A large number of Decorah football players have earned All-District recognitions

Posted: Mon, Nov 11, 2019 8:56 AM

The Class 3A District #3 All-District recognitions have been released and there are plenty of Decorah Vikings on the list.

Viking placekicker Gabe Austin was named a Specialty Player of the Year in District #3.  Named to the First Team All-District Defense were defensive lineman Dakota Swatek; linebacker Cael Luzum; defensive back Galen Iverson and "utility player" Gabe Austin.

First Team All-District Offense designations were given to Viking receivers Logan Halverson and Matthew Franzen, while running back Andrew Magner also made the First Team Offense.

Second team All-District honors were given to Tucker Young, Seth Shindelar, Mitchell Leschensky and Keaton Solberg.

Roughly half of the Viking football team earned Academic All-District honors: juniors Kody Bodensteiner, Baylor Bohr, Noah Breitenbach-Dirks, Cael Luzum, Kyle Renken, Charles Robinson and Steven Sexton and seniors Owen Bruening, Braden Elton, Matthew Franzen, Joseph Holland, Galen Iverson, David Johanningmeier, Mitchell Leschensky, Andrew Magner, Elijah Mitchell, Nathan Monteith, Dominic Reilly, Seth Shindelar, Keaton Solberg and Tucker Young.

Said head coach Pat Trewin, "It is great to see the post-season recognition for our players. We have many deserving recipients. Often you would like to have a couple more, but many of the our players were honored. This year it was especially nice to see that we had half the team qualify for Academic All-District. We are proud of what we were able to do this season and enjoyed working with this great group of people."