Decorah boys cross country team becomes the Northeast Iowa Conference Champions for 4th year in a row

Posted: Wed, Oct 10, 2018 12:04 PM
Decorah boys cross country team are all smiles with their plaque naming them NEIC champions (all photos by's Clara Knudson)

The Decorah Viking boys cross country team won first place in the Northeast Iowa Conference meet at Waverly on Tuesday night. Despite the wet, rainy, and over-saturated course, the boys won by 45 points.

This is the 4th consecutive conference win for the boys and the 26th overall for the team.  Coach Brad Johansen praised the team, saying, "You can never underestimate the will of a champion. We prepared and performed like champions."

Decorah finished in 1st place with 26 points. Their top 5 runners were in the top 10. Gus Hayes was the conference champion, crossing the finish line in 1st place in 17:35. Brady Hogan was 2nd in 18:03. Spencer Peterson was 6th in 18:50. Brayden Krivacheck was 8th in 18:59. Noah Lovelace was 9th in 18:59. Pat Bockman was 10th in 19:05. Willem Hawley was 12th in 19:09.

Waverly-Shell Rock had 71 points, putting them in 2nd place. Charles City was 3rd with 80 points. Crestwood finished 4th with 94 points. Waukon was 5th with 136 points. New Hampton was 6th with 154 points, and Oelwein was 7th with 193 points.

The JV boys ran a combined race with the varsity team and they also won the conference. They missed a perfect score by just 2 points. Decorah was 1st with 17 points. Waverly-Shell Rock was 2nd with 46 points. Charles City was 3rd with 73 points. Crestwood was 4th with 107 points. Waukon was 5th with 155 points.

Larsson Shockey finished in 1st place with his time of 19:34. Beau Hawley was 2nd with a time of 19:43. Joseph Seo was 3rd in 19:45. Samuel Robinson was 4th in 19:55. Christian Johnson was 7th in 20:10. August Witt was 8th in 20:11. Arlo Hayes was 9th in 20:17.

The varsity boys head to Independence next Thursday, October 18th for the District meet.

It was a wet, soggy course for the race
Gus Hayes
Brady Hogan
Larsson Shockey was the winner of the jv team