The Decorah Viking wrestling squad opens its 2017-2018 season on Tuesday night

Posted: Sun, Nov 26, 2017 4:54 PM

The Decorah Viking wrestling squad begins its 2017-2018 season Tuesday night with a triangular meet in La Porte City with Union and Vinton-Shellsburg.

14 letter winners return for the Vikings, who went 14-8 last year.  The Vikings will be led by two-time state qualifier Philip Ihde and last year's district qualifier, Andy Lillegraven.  Ihde won his first match at the State Meet, beating #9-seed Kyler Dunn of Spirit Lake, but then lost his next two matches. Ihde has a career record of 86 wins and 19 losses. Lillegraven has qualified for the District Meet two years in a row.

Other returning letter winners include sophomore Kyzer Engen, who is 30-10 for his career, and Tom Knoke, who has a 24-4 career mark.

New Hampton/Turkey Valley is picked as the favorite in the Northeast Iowa Conference after winning the Class 2A division at the State Meet last year.  Decorah will vie with Waverly-Shell Rock and Crestwood in the conference.

Returning letterwinners: (Front row, left to right): Nils Holkesvik, Luke Dieschbourg, Philip Ihde, Mason Olsgard, Kyzer Engen, Corban Rowley and Brendan Lovstuen. (Back row, left to right): Daniel Schwartzhoff, Tanner Knutson, Tom Knoke, Andy Murphy, Andy Lillegraven, Nathan Tappe, Blake Courtney and Elijah Mitchell